• UNEP MGCY

Environmental Peace-Building & Youth: Europe & North America Regional Consultation

The Children and Youth Major Group of UNEP invites you to explore the role young people play in setting the agenda and driving environmental peacebuilding. Join us in the virtual regional consultation on Environmental Peacebuilding for Europe and North America on July 15th at 5pm CET / 11am EST / 8am PST.


Environmental destruction, water scarcity and land-use can be matters of conflict while the recognition, protection and restoration of access to water and land ecosystems builds cooperation and is crucial to the framework of peacebuilding processes.


This 1.5hr / 90min consultation is in complement to the Global Survey on Environmental Peacebuilding and Youth. Your inputs will be contributing to the Whitepaper on the Future of Environmental Peacebuilding convened by the Geneva Peacebuilding Platform. And, will inform a session during Geneva Peace Week (1-5 November 2021).


All young people, 16-35 years of age, with an interest in this emerging topic are invited to attend the interactive discussion. Keynote speakers will present the context in the beginning with the bulk of the event dedicated to break-out groups focused on identifying local environmental conflicts or injustices and how young people can inform the future of environmental peacebuilding.


Environmental Peacebuilding Regional Consultation Europe & North America

July 15th 5:00pm CET / 11:00 am EST / 8am PST


Please register using the form at this link.


Alternatively if you are unable to attend, please take a moment to fill the survey here:

https://tinyurl.com/YouthPeace21